The Journey Ahead

Journey

Happy Friday, Turtlewriters. It’s been a while since we’ve done a post, so I needed to change that. Today is November 30th, which means tomorrow is the start of a new and the final month of 2018.

It’s during this time that think about the goals I’d set for myself in January and start checking off what I did or didn’t accomplish. That got me thinking about the Turtlewriters. It’s been a crazy year. Somethings worked out (Rosetta’s weekly writing prompts) and some things didn’t (my sprinting day). ML worked hard to put together our official website and we launched an official Twitter page.

Together we’ve rallied around members attacked by trolls. Cheered people in their successes and gave out all the virtual hugs in their non-successes (failure is a bad word ‘round these parts). Collectively there have been thousands of words written. Some have made it through the initial lap to finish that first draft. And I *think* we’ve had some make it the next leg in the race and hit publish. No matter where someone is on the journey, this community has remained true to in its desire to be supportive through and through.

As we barrel toward 2019 we want to keep hold of that.

Anyone that knows me, knows I’m a pantser in most things. I rarely have a solid plan. That being said, I learned two years back that having a small plan, a loose set of ‘goals’ helped me keep that all important focus.

I’m not talking a long laundry list of things. My goals for 2018 I *think* consisted of like 4-5 things. Yes, I should know this. No, I actually don’t without going back to check my list. #BadMemory Point is, I give myself leeway and keep it small so it feels more attainable to complete over the 12 months. The less pressure the better I say.

So, Turtlewriters, when you stopped to think about what you accomplished in 2018, let us know how you want to amp that up in 2019. What are 1-2 things you’d like the rest of the group to support you in achieving?

Need an accountability partner so you can finally finish a draft? Let us know.

Thinking about going indie but have question or need your hand held through the process? Give a shout.

Don’t make them huge things. Don’t make them things that will drag you down if you happen to not hit them. And don’t over extend yourself by being extra lofty in what you want. We’re turtles, which means we’re slow by nature. Be chill, relaxed, and you’ll get it done.

Remember slow and steady wins the race.

Drop your goals in the comments.

Until next time

~Meka

7 comments

  1. My goal for 2019 is to prep my blog to launch New Year’s 2020. I really am a turtlewriter, and a planner. Even though it’s going to be a weekly blog that I plan to post on Mondays, I know from past experience I can’t keep up with a weekly schedule if I write as I go. I will be spending the year writing posts in advance. The blog will be on mental health because #MentalHealthMatters.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh exciting. Putting together a blog/website can be hard if you’re not techy (like me LOL). Smart to have the posts pre-planned out for the year. It can be hard to keep up with writing them each week, especially depending on what else life throws at you. I’ve never been good with a schedule myself, but I’ve managed to keep up with 1 weekly segment. How would you like us to help keep you on track for 2019?

      Like

      • Support from the community would give me a sense that people are expecting me to show up every week. It would give me the accountability I need. Thank you in advance for your support.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you my #turtlewriters crew.
    I’m hoping next year, to start a blank page. Many good and also stressful things had happened this year.
    For 2019, I hope to get a healthy writing and exercise routine. To develop the habit is the most difficult. So, this is goyto be the main goal. About the stress? I’ll be living a day at a time! I wish you a great new year. 🙃🐢🍀

    Like

    • A blank page is a good way to look at it. Moving forward and trying not to look back too much. I know it’s impossible to completely only look forward, but we have to start somewhere. 🙂
      Oh yes. That balance of writing but not forgetting self care. It is so hard to develop a habit. Have you written down a tentative schedule yet to try and get you in the right mind frame? That might help get you started on building the habit. A day at a time is the best approach. Let us know how we can help you with your goals. And have a happy new year!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Firstly, just to say i love this group! Goal for 2019 is to come to terms with marketing and making what I do fit with who I am so marketing one’s work feels more natural. It’s the hardest thing for me as a writer and for so many of us that I feel we could share how we feel about it at least. Cheers!

    Like

    • Aww yay! Our goal has always been to make this a welcoming place of encouragement and support. Oh man, marketing. That is a struggle I am still battling. And yes, we all know we have to market on some level so people know we have books out, but at the same time, it’s hard because you don’t want to seem like a pester (or at least that’s my feeling). Figuring out marketing is part of my 2019 goals as well. Let us know how we can help.

      Like

Leave a comment